CAVEMAN MUSSELS


This is my second recipe.  Doing this Paleo challenge is really testing my creative mind.  Anyway, this Another one from the stay-home dad.  I honestly have not cook any dishes ever since my wife took over the kitchen.  After losing my job I felt like it was my responsibility to help out.  I am with my son the whole day and I want him to learn to cook as well.  So its time to get creative.  Pardon the cooking terms I use I do not have any idea what some terms are so I’ll do it caveman style and call it how I see it.

Ok this one is honestly so simple even my son can make it.  It does not take a lot to make and all you need is 20minutes.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp Paprika
1 tbsp black pepper
sea salt (for taste)
 
(3) cloves of garlic (dice)
(1) red onion (or yellow) (dice)
(20) baby tomatoes (slice in half)
2lb of mussels
1 lb of shrimp
1 lb of mustard greens or bokchoy (chopped in half)
 

Get a skillet and lightly coat it with olive oil.  Let it heat up for a bit and throw in the garlic and lightly sautee.  Then throw in the mussels with a cup of water so the garlic does not burn.  Now let that cook for 3-5 minutes until the mussels start changing color.  Now throw in the chopped tomatoes and onions.  Also throw in the spices and stir it all together until all ingredients are mixed.  Let that sit for another 10 minutes and then throw in the shrimp and put a cover to let it steam on mid to low heat for 5 minutes to cook.  Once you see the shrimp white color and not so transparent, throw in the vegetables.   If you prefer to throw in the veggies do so I dont like them soggy thats why I throw them last.  Mix again to let all the flavors mix up and then put cover again to let it cook on its own steam – add sea salt for taste.  Turn off stove and VIOLA!

About Mickel

Husband, Father, fitness enthusiast. GTfit founder. We often settle and find that moving, even at a slow pace hard. I am here to show you that no matter how slow - PROGRESS IS STILL PROGRESS. #evolve

Posted on 03/06/2012, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

