Marine Corps Marathon Fundraiser


PicsArt_1373675458110This coming October I will be running in the Marine Corps Marathon with team Racing To Register to add meaning to my miles. I will be a participant in TEAM RTR’s goal to help inspire, donate and raise awareness towards bone marrow transplants and research. These 26.2 miles will provide hope and inspiration to all blood cancer patients to complete their recovery.  I am a fairly new runner and especially new to long distance running.  2013 is my first year for marathon racing.  This will also be my first time in the Capitol and I am very excited.   I believe in always pushing forward and overcoming each obstacle.  Without struggle there is no progress and as painful running is there is no pain compared to fighting for your own life.  We take life for granted each day.  This race is my way of showing and pushing others that we should not just exist, but love the life we live and live the life we love.  I initially only wanted to do one marathon this year.  But when I found out about this race and Team RTR I felt it was my duty to help out and be part of this historic race.  So I am doing two marathons within 2 weeks apart.  I will be dedicating my run to my wife’s mother who continues her battle with cancer.  She has gone through so much and I want to gather all the strength she has and do this to give her support.

Please help me raise money to help support this great foundation as well as run the Marine Corps Marathon.

Please go here to donate: http://www.crowdrise.com/teamrtrmcm/fundraiser/mickelevangelista

 I will run with the intention to bring a light to a dark tunnel of those recovering from cancer.

PicsArt_1373058874194 LifeLesson003

Do me a favor today, make it a point that you won’t take any day for granted. Inhale the moment and make it happen and exhale the possibility. Make it happen. Cancer is a word not a sentence…let’s try to live in a world where cancer doesn’t exist. 

Your present circumstances don’t determine where you can go; they merely determine where you start.. Sometimes I make the mistake of wanting to speed up the process to hit my destination that I forget that it can hit other paths that can lead me elsewhere. We all die! The goal is not to live forever, but to leave something that will. Carve your name on hearts, not tombstones. A legacy is etched into the minds of others and the stories they share about you.  Live the life you love because it’s all you have.

 
I appreciate any donation made to my cause…$1.00 goes a long way.  You can either donate through the link below and use your credit card or debit card or you can donate cash.  There will be a donation box set up in the mainsite.

and remember, CANCER SUCKS

“Believe, when you are most unhappy, that there is something for you to do in the world.  So long as you can sweeten another’s pain, life is not in vain.”

mcm

More info about TEAM RACING TO REGISTER: http://www.racingtoregister.com/

About Team RTR

Team RTR was launched in December 2011 as a way for Racing To Register to support the mission of the charity: to inspire people to join the National Bone Marrow Registry as well as to educate people on why there is a need to increase the size of the Registry. Team RTR provides support, guidance, tools and resources for the fantastic people who are walking, running, swimming, pedaling, and dancing to raise funds and awareness for people to join the Registry research.

In only its first few months, Team RTR has grown to include triathletes, marathoners, half marathoners, and 10 mile runners. This diverse collection of athletes and change-makers continues to grow and inspire us every day.  There is no limit to the creativity, positive spirit and creativity with which the heroes of Team RTR set about to save the lives of those in need of transplants.

About Mickel

Husband, Father, fitness enthusiast. GTfit founder. We often settle and find that moving, even at a slow pace hard. I am here to show you that no matter how slow - PROGRESS IS STILL PROGRESS. #evolve

Posted on 07/12/2013, in GTfit LIFT and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

